Antarctica is the world’s fifth-largest continent that is covered in ice and covers Earth’s South Pole. It is virtually uninhabited. It covers size of 14,000,000 sq km and population of only 1,106. It has no countries. It is not only the coldest place on earth, but it is also the driest and windiest. Antarctica has world’s 75% of ice and 70% of earth’s fresh water. Owing to its climatic condition, it is referred to as the frozen continent or the white continent.

Because of its geographic location, Antarctica witnesses half year of light and the other half of darkness, where summer months give 24 hours of light and winter months bring pitch black darkness throughout the day. The lowest temperature ever recorded on Earth was that of Antarctica with -89-degree C. No time zones exist in this continent and penguins consider this continent to be their ultimate home. Only scientists who visit to do research are found in this continent with permanent settlements (i.e. research bases).

4 Countries