List of 8 Countries in Collective Security Treaty Organization

Collective Security Treaty Organization flag

Collective Security Treaty Organization flag

CSTO, an abbreviation for Collective Security Treaty Organization was formed in 1992 by Russian states. It is headquartered in Moscow, Russia. It’s a military alliance which seeks to provide collective security and defense for its members. It aims to provide security to its members from external threats and aggression. Where NATO has 29 member states, CSTO has only six and consists of military training and exercises as well. At present, its members include Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, the Russian Federation, Armenia, and Tajikistan. On the other hand, Serbia and Afghanistan hold observer status in the organization. The main goals of CSTO include provision of security, policy coordination over security, dealing with international terrorism, illegal migration, drug trafficking and many others.
8 Member Countries






Russian Federation