National flag of Malawi

The official name of Malawi (MWI) is Republic of Malawi and consists of Black, red and green flag colors. The capital city of Malawi is Lilongwe. Malawi has the total estimated population as of 2020 is 15,805,239 or 15.8 M based on 27 states, 29 cities. The independence day is celebrated on July 6, 1964 and the founder of Malawi is Amaravi people.



About Malawi Flag

Malawi flag
Malawi Flag Colors   Black
Meaning of Malawi flag colors

Malawi’s current flag was adopted on 1964 after getting independence from British rule. The following colors have different meanings: Red: The blood shed while fighting for Malawi’s independence. The sun depicting the dawn of freedom and confidence regarding African continent. Green: Shows the Nation’s agriculture. Black: represents Africans.

Proportion 2:3
Proportion (decimals) 1.5
Flag Adoption Date ‎July 6, 1964

Download Malawi Flag

Resize the Malawi's flag picture in any size and format
To maintain the country's flag image quality, it is recommended to resize with "Maintain aspect ratio"

Cities (29)

Airports (29)

Neighboring Countries of Malawi