List of 14 Countries in Oceania Continent

Map of Oceania

Map of Oceania

Australia/Oceania is the world’s smallest continent with size of 8,525,989 sq km and with population of 39,901,000. It has 3 countries and is also known as an island continent because water is surrounded over its sides. Though the official name of Australia is Commonwealth of Australia, the continent of Australia is often called Meganesia, Sahul and Australinea to make it distinct from the country Australia.

Since it lies entirely towards the south of the equator, it is referred to as down under. Even the word Australia comes from Latin origin, australis, which means southern. Australia excels in wool production and import out of all the seven continents of the world. The unique animals found in Australia include, kangaroo, platypus and emu. Moreover, two-thirds of Australia is desert land and it is often referred to as Oceania.

There are 15 countries in the Oceania continent.




New Zealand


Papua New Guinea


Solomon Islands